Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Superintendent presents five-year BPS transformation plan

Superintendent Carol Johnson presented to the Boston School Committee tonight the Acceleration Agenda, a five-year strategic direction for the transformation of the Boston Public Schools. The plan includes goals, academic targets, and four key strategies to ensure the success of all schools and students. Dr. Johnson also named 14 "turnaround schools" identified for targeted interventions and supports. See coverage in the Globe, Herald, and on NECN:

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Wednesday is Education Support Professionals Day

Tomorrow -- Wednesday, November 18 -- is an opportunity for schools across the country to pay tribute to the secretaries, cafeteria workers, custodians, bus drivers, and other support staff. As part of National Education Week, celebrate Education Support Professionals Day by thanking the men and women who keep our schools running well so that teachers can teach and students can learn!

Friday, November 06, 2009

Task force to address ELL achievement gaps

The Boston School Committee has launched a Task Force on English Language Learners to improve achievement among students whose first language is not English.

Thursday, November 05, 2009

Actuaries invest in the future of Boston

The Society of Actuaries recently held its annual conference in Boston. Prior to the national meeting, the organization donated $25,000 to the Boston Public Schools to support math instruction. The Actuarial Foundation also donated financial literacy packets to Boston Latin Academy as well as flash drives for students. Pictured here, Rev. Gregory G. Groover, Sr. (left), Chair of the Boston School Committee, accepts a check from Cecil Bykerk, FSA, President of the Society of Actuaries.

Congratulations, retirees!

Last night, the Boston School Committee paid tribute to principals and district leaders who retired recently from the Boston Public Schools. Pictured here are some of the retirees who attended a reception prior to the School Committee meeting. Left to right: front row, Dr. Carol R. Johnson, Superintendent; Grace Madsen, Adams Elementary School; Joanne Collins-Russell, Jackson-Mann K-8 School; Mary Russo, Murphy K-8 School; Suzanne Lee, Quincy Elementary School; back row, Michael O’Neill, School Committee member; Antonio Barbosa, Winship Elementary School; Emily Shamieh, Winthrop Elementary School; Carlos Gibb, Ellis Elementary School; Nancy Zamierowski, Assistant Superintendent; William Henderson, O’Hearn Elementary School; Michele O’Connell, Holland Elementary School; Catherine James, Bates Elementary School; and Rev. Gregory G. Groover, Sr., School Committee Chair.