Tuesday, January 13, 2009

New year, new Chair for Boston School Committee

The Boston School Committee began 2009 by electing a new Chairperson: Rev. Dr. Gregory G. Groover, Sr. The Committee also elected Marchelle Raynor as its Vice-Chairperson. Rev. Groover succeeds Dr. Elizabeth Reilinger, who had been elected Chair every year since 1998. Dr. Reilinger announced last month that she would not seek a twelfth term as Chairperson but would complete her term as a member of the School Committee.

Prior to the annual organizational meeting, Mayor Thomas M. Menino administered the oath of office to School Committee member Michael D. O'Neill to a full four-year term.

The Committee also approved a 2009 calendar of public meetings and hearings, including four upcoming hearings on the development of the district budget for the 2009-2010 school year.

No comments: